# **EXHIBIT "A"**

Attached to and made a part of that certain Operating Agreement dated March 1, 1998, by and between UMC Petroleum Corporation, as Operator, and the Signatory Parties thereto, as Non-Operators.

#### I. CONTRACT LANDS:

Township 16 South, Range 35 East, NMPM Section 2: S/2 (a/k/a the SW/4 and the SE/4) Lea County, New Mexico Subject to the Depth Restrictions listed below

#### II. DEPTH RESTRICTION:

Shallow Unit - E/2SW/4 of Section 2 from surface to the stratigraphic equivalent of the base of the Strawn Carbonate formation as found at 11,468' in the Yates Petroleum Corporation Brunson AQK State Com #1 Well located 2260' FNL and 1795' FEL of Section 10, T16S, R35E, Lea County, New Mexico.

Deep Unit - S/2 of Section 2 from below the base of the Strawn Carbonate formation to the base of the Mississippian formation.

## III. PERCENTAGE INTERESTS OF PARTIES UNDER THE AGREEMENT:

## Shallow Unit - E1/2SW1/4

 UMC Petroleum Corporation
 100.00%

 Deep Unit - S½ (a/k/a the SW¼ and the SE½)

 UMC Petroleum Corporation
 75.00%

 Yates Petroleum Corporation
 8.75%

 Yates Drilling Company
 1.25%

 Abo Petroleum Corporation
 1.25%

 Myco Industries, Inc.
 1.25%

 Owners of the SW/4SW/4 of Section 2 (See Below. Individual ownership to be determined upon final title evaluation.)
 12.50%

 100.00%
 100.00%

# Owners of the SW/4SW/4 of Section 2:

Amerind Oil Company, Ltd. A. L. Cone Partnership S.E. Cone, Jr. Katherine Cone Keck Roy G. Barton, Jr., Trustee Marjorie Cone Kastman **Clifford Cone** Kenneth G. Cone Ameristate Oil & Gas Inc. Fuel Products, Inc. John F. Herbig, Jr. Flo Scott Brown Dan Field Marilyn Cone, Trustee DC Cone Trust Constance Cobb Keen Heirs of Tom W. Schnaubert Laverna Howard Trustee, Joan Garrison Trust Heirs of Lucretia E. Conlon

48