

NEW MEXICO ENERGY, MINERALS and NATURAL RESOURCES DEPARTMENT

BILL RICHARDSON Governor

Governor

Joanna Prukop

Cabinet Secretary

Lori Wrotenbery
Director
Oil Conservation Division

-11- -01:35 JC1

MEMORANDUM

To:

Counsel, Case No. 12,888

From:

Stephen C. Ross, Assistant General Counsel

Date:

February 11, 2003

Re:

Case No. 12,888, de novo, Application of the Fruitland Coalbed Methane

Study Committee to amend Rules 4 and 7 of the Special Rules and

Regulations of the Basin-Fruitland Coal (Gas) Pool and for the termination

of the Cedar Hill-Fruitland Basal Coal Pool and the concomitant

expansion of the Basin-Fruitland Coal (Gas) Pool, Rio Arriba, San Juan, McKinley and Sandoval Counties, New Mexico, before the New Mexico

Oil Conservation Commission.

Dear Counsel,

There has been some confusion regarding the submission of the pre-hearing statements in this matter. The confusion seems to stem from the fact that a hearing date has not yet been set by the Commission.

As you recall, my January 16, 2003 memorandum required pre-hearing statements to be submitted no later than February 14, 2003. One of the purposes of requiring such an early submission of the statement was to permit the Commission to assess the number of days that would be required for the hearing. This remains an important consideration.

Because of the confusion, the parties should submit the pre-hearing statements no later than February 28, 2003. On or about that date, the Commission will set a hearing date, which should be in the late May, early June time frame.

Thank you to the parties who alerted me to the confusion on this point.

Counsel, Case No. 12,888 Page 2 February 11, 2003

If I can be of assistance to the parties, please do not hesitate to contact me at (505) 476-3451.

Sincerely,

Stephen C. Ross

Assistant General Counsel

Oil Conservation Commission

Cc: W. Thomas Kellahin

Kellahin & Kellahin

P.O. Box 2265

Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504-2265

William F. Carr Holland & Hart LLP 110 North Guadalupe, Suite 1 P.O. Box 2208 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504-2208

James Bruce P.O. Box 1056 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504

Larry P. Ausherman Moddrall Sperling Roehl & Sisk P.A. P.O. Box 2168 Albuquerque, New Mexico 87103-2168

Charles E. Roybal BHP Minerals 300 West Arrington, # 200 Farmington, New Mexico 87401-8433 Counsel, Case No. 12,888 Page 3 February 11, 2003

J. Scott Hall Miller, Stratvert & Torgerson P.A. P.O. Box 1986 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504-1986

John A. Dean Jr. Curtis & Dean P.O. Drawer 1259 Farmington, New Mexico 87499

David K. Brooks New Mexico Oil Conservation Division 1120 S. St. Francis Drive Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505

Florene Davidson, Commission Secretary New Mexico Oil Conservation Division 1120 S. St. Francis Drive Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505

Steve Henke Bureau of Land Management, Farmington Field Office 1235 La Plata Highway Farmington, New Mexico 87401-8731

Ned Kendrick Montgomery & Andrews P.A. P.O. Box 2307 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504-2307