3R - 209

APPROVALS

YEAR(S):

1997

STATE OF NEW MEXICO



ENERGY, MINERALS AND NATURAL RESOURCES DEPARTMENT

OIL CONSERVATION DIVISION

2040 S. PACHECO SANTA FE, NEW MEXICO 87505 (505) 827-7131

January 24, 1997

CERTIFIED MAIL RETURN RECEIPT NO. P-269-269-241

Ms. Sandra Miller
El Paso Field Services
P.O. Box 4990
Farmington, New Mexico 87499

RE: FINAL SAN JUAN BASIN PIT CLOSURE REPORTS

Dear Ms. Miler:

The New Mexico Oil Conservation Division (OCD) has completed a review of El Paso Field Services (EPFS) August 20, 1996 "PRODUCTION PIT CLOSURE SUBMITTAL" and July 1996 "SAN JUAN BASIN PIT CLOSURES, SAN JUAN BASIN, NEW MEXICO, PIT CLOSURE REPORT". These documents contain the results of pit closure activities at 39 sites which encountered shallow ground water.

The OCD's review of the above referenced documents is addressed below:

A. The pit closure/remediation activities conducted at the sites listed below are approved.

1.	Apache Federal #4 (Drip pit)	Unit M,	Sec.	07,	T24N,	RO5W.
2.	Argo #1E (Dehy pit)	Unit N,	Sec.	18,	T27N,	R10W.
3.	Burroughs Com #1 (Drip pit)	Unit H,	Sec.	36,	T27N,	RO8W.
4.	Candelaria Gas Com C#1 (Drip pit)	Unit C,	Sec.	27,	T29N,	R10W.
5.	Canyon Largo Unit #298 (Drip pit)	Unit A,	Sec.	03,	T24N,	RO6W.
6.	Canyon Largo Unit #302 (Drip pit)	Unit J,	Sec.	03,	T24N,	R06W.
7.	Canyon Largo Unit #336 (Drip pit)	Unit C,	Sec.	24,	T25N,	R06W.
8.	Charley Pah #4 (Drip pit)	Unit K,	Sec.	12,	T27N,	R09W.
9.	Cleveland No.6 (Drip pit)	Unit B,	Sec.	21,	T27N,	R09W.
10.	Cutler #2 (Drip pit)	Unit A,	Sec.	14,	T24N,	R06W.
11.	Federal 6 #32 CH (Drip pit)	Unit G,	Sec.	06,	T26N,	R07W.
12.	Federal R#2 (Drip pit)	Unit P,	Sec.	15,	T27N,	RO8W.
13.	Flora Vista #1 (Dehy pit)	Unit F,	Sec.	22,	T30N,	R12W.
14.	Gartner LS #7 (Dehy pit)	Unit K,	Sec.	26,	T30N,	RO8W.
15.	Grace Pearce #1 (Drip pit)	Unit O,	Sec.	22,	T29N,	R11W.
16.	Green Com #1 (Drip pit)	Unit E,	Sec.	36,	T29N,	RO9W.
17.	Hammond Fed #1 (Drip pit)	Unit L,	Sec.	25,	T27N,	RO8W.
18.	Hammond Fed #5 (Drip pit)	Unit D,	Sec.	25,	T27N,	RO8W.
19.	Hammond #7 (Drip pit)	Unit G,	Sec.	26,	T27N,	RO8W.
20.	Hammond #92 (Drip pit)	Unit O,	Sec.	25,	T27N,	RO8W.
21.	Howell #3 (Drip pit)	Unit C,	Sec.	03,	T27N,	RO8W.
22.	Krause WN Federal #1E (Drip pit)	Unit C,	Sec.	32,	T28N,	R11W.
23.	Lat 2C-55 Line Drip (Drip pit)	Unit F,	Sec.	17,	T25N,	R07W.
24.	Lindrith Unit #23 (Drip pit)	Unit O,	Sec.	09,	T24N,	RO3W.

Ms. Sandra Miller January 24, 1997 Page 2

25.	Marshall "B" #1J (Drip pit)	Unit O,	Sec.	14,	T27N,	RO9W.
26.	Ona McGee #1 (Dehy pit)	Unit P,	Sec.	04,	T3ON,	R11W.
27.	Price #3 (Dehy pit)	Unit A,	Sec.	15,	T28N,	ROSW.
28.	Sanchez Gas Com C#1 (Drip pit)	Unit A,	Sec.	28,	T29N,	R10W.
29.	Valdez #2 (Drip pit)	Unit G.	Sec.	24.	T29N.	R11W.

Please be advised that OCD approval does not relieve EPFS of liability if remaining contaminants are found to pose a future threat to surface water, ground water, human health or the environment. In addition, OCD approval does not relieve EPFS of responsibility for compliance with any other federal, state or local laws and/or regulations.

B. Ground waters at the sites listed below are contaminated with petroleum related constituents in excess of New Mexico Water Quality Control Commission ground water standards. At these sites, subsequent closure monitoring was not performed or the extent of ground water contamination at the sites was not been determined. Therefore, approval of these pit closure forms is denied. The OCD requests that, as necessary, EPFS investigate the extent of contamination, perform subsequent closure monitoring and/or remediate contaminated ground water pursuant to EPFS's November 29, 1995 ground water investigation/remediation work plan which was approved by the OCD on November 30, 1995.

1.	2C-22 #3 Line Drip (Drip pit)	Unit G,	Sec.	13,	T24N,	RO6W.
2.	2C-45 Line Drip (Drip pit)	Unit P,	Sec.	13,	T25N,	RO6W.
3.	Canyon Largo Unit #304 (Drip pit)	Unit C,	Sec.	11,	T24N,	RO6W.
4.	Gallegoc Canyon Unit #188E (Dehy)	Unit B,	Sec.	30,	T29N,	R12W.
5.	Graham #53 (Dehy pit)	Unit L,	Sec.	10,	T27N,	RO8W.
6.	K-17 Line Drip (Drip pit)	Unit C,	Sec.	26,	T27N,	RO8W.
7.	McGrath #1 (Drip pit)	Unit F,	Sec.	07,	T30N,	R11W.
8.	Miles Federal #1E (Dehy pit)	Unit N,	Sec.	05,	T26N,	R07W.
9.	Trunk D Line Drip (Loop D-8) (Drip)	Unit F,	Sec.	20,	T28N,	RO8W.
10.	Trujillo Gas Com A#1 (Drip pit)	Unit C,	Sec.	28,	T29N,	R10W.

If you have any questions, please call me at (505) 827-7154.

Sincerely,

William C. Olson Hydrogeologist

Environmental Bureau

xc: OCD Aztec District Office
Bill Liess, BLM Farmington District Office
David Deardorff, New Mexico State Land Office
Charmaine Tso, Navajo Nation EPA

Kurt Sandoval, Jicarilla Apache EPO